Chocolate Cake Mix Cupcakes + Nutella Buttercream

#6: Preheating the oven with a bunch of pizza pans in it from last night. #SCP

It’s CHRISTMAS and that means I’m home for awhile….that means: COOKING!
I’m BAAAAAACK (for now). I’ve also got some back-logged ones that will be coming out soon. Maybe. Motivate my lazy self. I’ve also noticed that WordPress has change a couple of things on our editing page, so I hope that I can figure out how to work this thing. I’ll also be abroad next semester in Scotland. Which will be a whole new cooking experience. I will be feeding myself over there, apparently. Also, expect many food reviews. I’ve heard great things about deep-fried pizza. Why didn’t Americans think up that one? I mean, really.

I was assigned dessert for our house church Christmas Party! and Heaven help us, I will not be investing my life in cake balls, or anything “mini” for that matter, anytime soon. Mini automatically means more work. I figured cupcakes were a good medium-sized treat. They’re even less difficult than an actual cake, because then there’s the mess with cutting, etc. And let’s be real, I just wanted a chance to try my hand at frosting piping.

When I went to Korea a couple years ago, we found a cupcake shop in Itaewon. This was its name:
15703_10150160161475314_2109205_n

I just thought that was cute, so you should know about it.

Anyways, I am doing these in two stages. I made the cupcakes on Saturday night, and the icing Sunday evening, in time for the guests!

Cupcake Recipe from My Baking Addiction
Nutella Buttercream from Kitchen Treaty

IMG_0331

Ingredients:
IMG_0310

Cupcake:
1 box of Devil’s Food Cake mix (15.25 oz)
1 box of instant chocolate pudding (3.4 oz)

1 C. Vegetable oil
1 C. sour cream
2 teaspoons vanilla
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 C. warm water

IMG_0323

Frosting:
1 C. butter, room temperature
2 C. powdered sugar
⅔ cup Nutella (and/or knockoff)
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream

Cake:
1. Preheat your oven to 350F.

2. Combine all ingredients until it makes a thick, chocolatey, delicious batter. It is fluffier, but similar in consistency to brownie batter.
IMG_0312

3. Using a heaping tablespoon, spoon into your lined tin. These make very puffy-topped ones! You can put less in if you want them to be more flat…

IMG_0314

IMG_0316

4. Bake for 18-22 minutes (?). Mine were ready at 19 minutes!

IMG_0318
Serious poof.

5. Lick all the beaters, bowls and spoons. Just do it.

Frosting:

6. Cream together butter and sugar on low.

IMG_0326

7. Add Nutella, and mix on medium speed about two minutes.

IMG_0327

8. Add vanilla, whip for 30 seconds.

9. Add whipping cream, and beat until light!

NOTE: I don’t think that I beat mine long enough after I added the whipping cream. You could definitely leave it out – It’s fluffy enough! Now my cupcakes are in the fridge for awhile, to keep the frosting from melting.

10. FROST! I used a piping tip inside a bag, but could have probably just used the bag. Maybe it could have come out thicker and wouldn’t have looked so much like chocolate poop….

I turned over the muffin pan for easy lift-out!
IMG_0335

ENJOY!

I think they’re better than chocolate-peanut butter. My mother even said, “Maybe the best icing I’ve ever had.”

IMG_0334

One thought on “Chocolate Cake Mix Cupcakes + Nutella Buttercream

Comments!

