Dakgalbi (Korean Spicy Chicken) for picky people

#29: I still don’t like things that are healthy for me. #SCP.

We made this over spring break and it was DELICIOUS because it had everything I liked and nothing I didn’t. What else is new?

I adapted this from the recipe at Beyond Kimchee, mostly because I took out the things I didn’t like. Enjoy!

It’s suuuper spicy but really worth it!

Boneless skinless chicken thighs
Korean rice cake sticks (softened or fresh)
Korean sweet potato
2 tablespoon canola oil
2-4 tablespoon water
 
For the sauce:
3 tablespoon Korean chili paste (gochujang)
2 tablespoon soy sauce
Garlic cloves, minced
2 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon ginger powder
2 tablespoon white wine
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon sesame oil
dashes of pepper
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems
1. Combine all sauce ingredients!
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblemsLet me tell you a little about gochujang: it’s hot! But with all the spices added, it creates something delicious. But be careful with it, you don’t want to get this in your eyes.
2. Add half of the sauce to diced chicken. I can’t stress how important it is in this recipe to do chicken thighs. It sounds weird because nobody uses them anymore, but trust me, it truly makes the dish. I went super Asian here and used a ziploc bag as a glove. If you don’t, you’ll be smelling like this stuff for days.
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems  Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems
3. Slice the potato into thin strips. These potatoes are super weird and really fibrous. You’ll want to steam them a few minutes in a bit of water in the microwave before adding them in.
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems
4. Add chicken and potatoes to the lightly oiled hot pan. Add the other half of the sauce. It will be steamy so make sure the fan is on! Once sizzling, add a bit of water to make steam and add the rice cakes.Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems
5. Once the potatoes and chicken are cooked, you’re good to go. :) It’s so tasty!!! Serve with rice.
Dak Galbi | SkinnyCookProblems

 

