Shrimp Pesto + Alfredo

#35. You always think you made too much. And then eat it all. #SCP

Sorry Doc, not healthy again…Talk about FOOD BABY, RIGHT NOW. The first time I made this was for my boyfriend Justin’s birthday in February. It was a wild success (according to the two of us).

Ingredients:

  • Precooked shrimp (frozen) (well, and then you have to thaw it.)
  • Noodles (Angel Hair is my preference)
  • Cream cheese «< the killer
  • Garlic «< love
  • Cream or Milk
  • Parmesan cheese, grated (not in the little green can!)
  • S&P, EVOO, butter, the usual.
  1. I read somewhere this week to always heat the pan first. So, do that. On medium-ish. And boil pasta water.
  2. Put a little butter and oil in a pan (I think the original recipe I used called only for butter, which contributes the salt factor. You may need to add salt later.) and then saute the garlic in it on medium heat.
    Add the cream cheese to the pan. It doesn’t really melt, just gets soft. It will look like brains. Don’t freak out. I used a little less than half a pack of cream cheese. Now would also be a great time to add your noodles to the boiling water.
  3. Pour in about 2/3 – 3/4 cup of cream, milk, or whatever floats your boat. It will work with both. I am not going to speak of which one I used. Stir a little, I guess.
  4. Add S&P, to taste. Lots of pepper is gooood. 🙂
  5. When you’re ready to eat (ie, when your noodles are done), put a small handful of Parmesan cheese into your sauce and stir it around. It will quickly create a cheeeeesy, delicious sauce.
  6. I added some premade pesto after it came off the stove.This is my favorite combo to get at the pasta place in our Student Center.
  7. Put your shrimp on top, bottom, side, whatever makes you happy. I forgot to thaw them this morning. So…when the noodle water was heating up, I may have poured some over the shrimp in a bowl so that they could thaw faster…It worked great, FYI. It’s easiest to de-tail them when they’re still a little frozen, as well. I did it probably on the 3rd rinse.

It’s the thought that counts:

I set out strawberries and green beans to go alongside. Two problems 1. Too much pasta  2. See number 1.

Oh well, maybe for dessert.

