Sesame Ginger Salmon + Ginger-Glazed Carrots

#77:  Realizing it’s Saturday and you have no idea what you are going to eat next week. #SCP

I woke up today and thought this. Sigh. Drawing board tomorrow!

This marinade is seriously delightful. Got the main recipe:  http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/03/toasted-sesame-ginger-salmon/

Next week: Attempt on chicken.

Salmon:

Ingredients:
2 T. Soy Sauce
2t. Rice Vinegar
2t. Toasted Sesame Oil
1/6 ish C. EVOO
2 T. Brown Sugar
2 Garlic cloves
1 garlic clove sized piece of ginger, peeled, put through garlic press and scraped out (get both juice and fiber!)
Sesame Seeds

1. Create marinade in a ziploc bag that will hold the fish. Why dirty up a bowl?
Don’t worry, it’s delicious.

2. Put fish in the bag…and put in fridge for awhile…Maybe while you make rice or get your carrots or pan ready?!
MMMMMMMMM.

3. After letting it sit for a little while, put it on a wire rack (sprayed with cooking spray) on top of a cookie sheet lined with foil. I think if it was lined with foil, it would have crisped up more, but we ran out the other day, whoops.

4. Broil until fish is done, depending on its size 🙂

Carrots:

The Caf kept trying to make these…back when I had to eat at the Caf. Shudder. They were basically orange juice carrots. But today, they sounded good. Plus, I had/this house had all the things necessary. FYI housemates: Used a tablespoon of your orange juice and 2 of the rando honey in the pantry. Hope that’s okay…!

Ingredients:
2T. Honey
1 garlic clove sized, pressed piece of ginger again
Carrots
1T. butter (I know.)
1 T. OJ

1. Pre-cook the carrots in a little water for a couple minutes.

2. Mix honey, juice and ginger (maybe a pinch of salt). I just did it in a measuring cup.

3. Add mixture to carrots, including butter. It will reduce a little.

Rice practice update: Today I had a little more success. It was still a little watery after the allotted time so I put it in a bowl and quickly threw it in the freezer. It took away some of the moisture!  It’s still not the same. Now taking rice cooker donations.

Looking for tips: I like salmon because it’s not very fishy. This one was extremely fishy. Maybe because I bought it frozen? Do I need to pat it dry before cooking? I’m just not sure.  If you know, please let me know!

Enjoy 🙂

