Chicken Parm + Spaghetti

#100: Almost burning down the house. #EnormousSCP

So…This is extremely embarrassing, but my housemate already lovingly posted it on my Facebook wall for everyone in my life to see, so I figured I could let the few people that read this know, especially since you probably already know. Last night after dinner, I put a sweet potato in the oven to bake so that I could take it to work today for lunch. I set my phone alarm for 45 minutes (They take 5 billion years to cook!). I went to my room. I got ready for bed, took a shower, brushed my teeth (monumental…Confession: I often don’t brush my teeth at night.), and was on the computer when the alarm went off. I was in the middle of reading an article or something so I turned it off thinking I would get up and get it in a minute. Then it was 9:45, I picked up my book, read it for 15 minutes and then turned out the light and went to sleep. About midnight, I woke up because I heard her and Nick talking. I thought that was strange, especially when I saw what time it was. This morning, I woke up and instantly thought, “OH MY GOSH THE POTATO.” There are no traces of it anywhere, except a pair of oven mitts on the counter. Props, McKenna. Thanks for saving us from potato fire.

On another note: Holy geez. Dinner tonight was delicious, if I do say so myself.

I had planned on spaghetti tonight so I could carb up for my workout tomorrow. The salad for lunch idea on Monday was a bad idea because I had no energy that afternoon. While I was waiting for my sauce to simmer for awhile, I got a great idea when I saw some panko crumbs in the cabinet while I was looking for onion powder and investigating the weird things we have here (Katie, it’s true.) Expect an installment of weird foods in this kitchen on a slow day.

 


Ingredients:
Pasta
1/2 can Tomato Paste
3/4 can Tomato Sauce
1 can diced tomatoes
1/4 Onion
1 clove garlic, minced
Italian seasoning
Egg whites
Chicken breast
Italian Panko bread crumbs

1. Saute onion and garlic in the bottom of a saucepan.
Mmmm.

2. Add the tomatoes and stir it around! Keep pot on about 3 or 4 heat.

3. Generously bless the pot with Italian seasoning. I really needed some onion powder, there’s just really no substitute. And then, I found THIS baby:
About a teaspoon of that made it ideal.

4. While it was simmering, I put a teaspoon-ish of egg whites (in the carton) on a side of a chicken breast and laid it on top of a bed of panko. Then I did the other side. Put it in a heated pan on 4-ish, with a little EVOO. Cook on both sides until it is cooked through!

 

I am still having planning problems, to make allΒ  my food finish at the same time. I was waiting on noodles to cook, typical. My chicken cooked a lot faster than I had anticipated. But it was okay, my chicken was still hot! Also, I am a sauce girl, and the amount I put on for the picture wasn’t cutting it. So I added a couple more spoons post-picture. πŸ™‚

Enjoy!

