Baby Quiches!

#7: Losing my student ID so I can’t go to the gym. #SCP

So. That’s a thing. I remember seeing it on Friday and thinking, “Oh, I’ll forget to put that back in my wallet.” And I did. Now where is it? Not a clue. On Monday, I had to fill out a guest form and if I don’t bring in my ID soon they are going to charge me the guest fee. Which is honestly ridiculous. They have a computer up at the frontΒ  but it isn’t turned on, and they just tape a piece of paper to the screen for the people they aren’t allowed to let in. All they would have to do is look me up… At any rate, I still can’t find it so I didn’t go today.

I love anything miniature. Especially baby animals. One of my favorite favorite things from Costco are those frozen baby quiches. Holy moly, I could eat 30 of them in one sitting. Problems. So. I knew I was going to make quiche, because I LOVE quiche crust, and am also trying to get rid of the bag of spinach (typical). Then I had the realization that pie crust is flaky and buttery and BAD FOR YOU. So I jumped online to find a substitute. “Healthy pie crust” is a rough search, by the way. Someone suggested using flax as a replacement. Just no.

In hindsight, I would have used more oil less water for this pie crust, and especially if cooking for other people, just make a good one from shortening or butter. They kind of turned out hard, like crackers, instead of flaky.

Anywho. I love quiche. Also, you can throw whatever you want in it and it’s perfectly acceptable. Like an omlette.

Crust:

1C Flour
Canola oil until it makes crumbles
water and pinch of salt until dough

Don’t handle it too much, is also what I read.

Bake at 350 until hard, maybe 15 ish minutes?

Inside:
Spinach
1 clove garlic, minced
two slices of Swiss cheese
1/4 onion
S&P
3/4 cup of egg beaters
Deli turkey
3T milk
spoonful of ricotta (just trying to get rid of it!)

Mix all things except eggs in a bowl.

I probably used about half of all these ingredients, and had some left over.

Spoon in to your crusts until the cups are full. Then fill to the top with egg white.

Bake at 350 until eggs are done, about 15-20 minutes.

In true French breakfast fashion, I had strawberries to go with!

