The Butter Fiasco + J’s Dressing

#99: I never want to look at butter ever again. #SCP

I posted about my butter fiasco on my personal blog, but here’s a copy:

Today, I got home and put water on for tea. i opened the fridge to get the milk out to find that it had soured. I threw it out, and then went back to the fridge, realizing that there was some nasty substance on all the shelves. I was like, GREAT, nasty milk everywhere. Instead, it has turned out to be a full 4 sticks of butter that were in a box on the shelf. BUTTER EVERYWHERE, Y’ALL. I can’t even lift some of the things off the tray before taking it out.

My life is a joke. Butter and meat are bad, bummer. Veggies might be in a bit of a shock but I think are okay. Basically everything’s getting thrown out.

It even melted my parmesan cheese. It had to have been toasty.

IT COOKED BACON. I don’t even know.

J was here last night, and we made dinner (he made this bomb salad dressing, also, which now I have to throw out, sad.). At the end of dinner I put the leftovers in the fridge and the light wasn’t coming on, but it was super hot. I thought it would cool down since it was off, but instead, it’s been cooking everything inside. What a mess.

Here is photographic proof of my horrible Wednesday a few weeks ago:
IMG00356-20130619-2112

IMG00355-20130619-2036

IMG00354-20130619-1805

So that happened. At any rate, the day before J had indeed made some bomb salad dressing.
He found the recipe here at SimpleBites:

Ingredients:
1/2 cup raw apple cider vinegar
1-2 tablespoons dijon mustard
3 garlic cloves, minced
generous pinch of sea salt and black pepper
2 tablespoons fresh herbs or 2 teaspoons dried (basil, oregano, chives, and thyme are all nice)
scant 1 1/2 cups extra virgin olive oil

He followed the recipe almost exactly, except he used the lesser amount of mustard, because he knew I didn’t like it (presh) and it was only used as an emulsifier. Our fresh herbs were BOMB in this. At this point we still only had oregano and basil.

Also, We didn’t have to modify this recipe because #3494 of weird things we have in this house was “raw apple cider vinegar.” Not a lie.

What are you supposed to do with 2 cups of vinaigrette? You don’t use very much of it…I thought I was going to be eating it for the next year, but then I ended up throwing it out the very next day. Sigh. Refrigerator tragedy. But apparently it still works, so there’s that.

We served it with Lemon Chicken and spinach. Tasty dinner, but it looks a little sad on the plate…haha

IMG00345-20130618-1814

