Homemade Twix Bites

#28: I’ve eaten way too many of these, in every stage of preparation. #SCP.

We’re back this week! It’s spring break, and so we’ve got a lot of cooking in our future, including: Kalbi, Dakgalbi (for the first time…fingers crossed!), and scones! Justin is here with me and we made a delicious treat we want to share.

Beware: these are not for the faint of heart. They are so rich, we could have cut them even smaller. But they’re the most delicious thing you’ve ever eaten.

Originally found on Pinterest here, it belongs to the lady over at A Beautiful Mess, posted last year. I’ll note when we’ve made adaptations!

IMG_2736

IMG_2725
Ingredients and Materials:
8×8 pan
2 packages of Walker’s shortbread (16 cookies)
Wax paper
Caramel bits (1 bag)
Kosher/Salt grinder
Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
Canola oil
2 Tbs milk
Nonstick spray

A couple things to start out: Walker’s are EXPENSIVE. Something like $5/package. My next time I make these, I’m going to try my own shortbread! The original recipe calls for the caramel you have to unwrap, but the bits were all I could find and they were fine. Also, note I added a little more milk than the original.

1. Spray wax paper with nonstick spray, and line the pan with cookies, face up. My boys helped me out with this step. 🙂
IMG_2728

2. Melt the caramels with the milk on medium-low heat until all combined. Pour over the shortbread!
IMG_2730

3. Once it cools for a second, sprinkle some sea salt over the top. I used a salt grinder, which gave some character-unevenness.
IMG_2732

4. Let this cool for ages, and hope your fat cat doesn’t try to eat it. We let it sit for an afternoon.

5. Get a super good-looking dude with a knife to separate all of yours into pieces. You can just flip it onto a cutting board sprayed with non-stick spray. 🙂 We ended up cutting them into three pieces per shortbread piece, because…they’re huge. and rich. Be certain to taste test at this stage. They’re delicious as-is.
IMG_0746
IMG_0747
IMG_0750
6. Melt chocolate chips (just in the microwave) with a bit of canola oil. Dip each piece and lay on wax paper. Add a sprinkle of flat kosher salt to the tops! 🙂 Let dry and store in a cool dry place (like, not above the dishwasher…our salt and chocolate melted a teeny bit).

IMG_0753

These are pretty easy (no bake!) and SO DELICIOUS. I have probably eaten a zillion. They perfectly fit into this handy dandy cake box (?) my mom has.
IMG_0759

ENJOY. FOR REALS THO.

LOVE.

IMG_2738

