Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze

#52: winging new things… #SCP

I’m all about that semi-homemade business, and this glaze was just enough to put these buddies right over the top of DELICIOUS.

We started a dinner club with 2 other couples, so that come winter, we can make things in the Crock Pot without having to eat them for the next ten days. Each couple takes one day a month (we are second Mondays), and cooks for everyone! I just can’t wait to make pot roast, my favorite food (Next month!). For our first one, we decided on breakfast. Plus, everyone was to wear their pajamas. It was super! And we made donuts because they’re Justin’s favorite breakfast treat. He insisted on the frying instead of the from-scratch baking, so this is what we ended up with! I made these once with my sorority Mom over the summer, but she was much more insistent on the use of a candy thermometer…meh. Such effort. Much lazy.

We don’t do a whole lot of baking, but I entered a Twitter giveaway last month and won the “GRAND PRIZE.” Vanilla From Tahiti provided me with an immense load of vanilla products, and so I had to get to using them! I have no prior experience with real vanilla beans…so that was interesting.

Ingredients: (Makes 20)
2 cans of buttermilk biscuits (the cheap, non flaky kind in the tiny can)
Oil for frying
2 C. powdered (confectioner’s) sugar
1/2 vanilla bean, scraped
1/4 C. milk
2 t. vanilla extract

Glaze recipe from Burnt Apple

1. Flatten and poke wide holes in all of your biscuits, making them into donut shapes!
2. Heat a pan of oil on medium…I guesstimated the temperature. I dropped a tiny ball of dough in there early and waited til it started bubbling around the edges. I also used a shallow pan. They sink to the bottom so you kind of have to be quick and work them off with a fork, but we made it happen.
Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems3. Cook each side of donut til golden!
Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems
4. Mix all other ingredients together on low heat to form the glaze. A whisk works best to break up the vanilla bits. Honestly, the scraping was easy, but it freaked me out that I also had fibrous pieces from the bean in my glaze. It made it look clumpy. We didn’t die and they tasted great, so I’m assuming everything’s fine…?
Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems5. When donuts are cooled, dip in glaze. We also double dipped a few!
Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems6. Try to wait until dessert!

Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblems Biscuit Donuts with Vanilla Bean Glaze | SkinnyCookProblemsENJOY! 🙂

