Southern Pie Special! Two Pies in One Post!

#67: Forgetting that we didn’t own pie plates. #SCP

THIS IS MY ACTUAL LIFE, you guys. I’ve been talking about pies for two weeks and didn’t even realize that we didn’t own anything round that resembled something to bake a pie in. Life.

We are so excited to be collaborating with Saturday Nights In blog, where they have posted two MORE pie recipes for you to check out. They are a NYC-based newlywed couple also exploring the kitchen together…it seemed like a perfect fit! The Fosters are so sweet and it’s been fun brainstorming with them. If you need some ideas for last-minute Thanksgiving desserts, look no further.

So, baking. It’s not often that we do this on here. Mostly because I don’t make anything “special,” it’s all for consumption for dinner and such. But the occasional dessert pops up, and it’s past due for some pumpkin cookies in my life. But this was a perfect opportunity to stretch the baking muscles and put our mixer to good use. I love pie. But have never really baked pies. Besides this one time. I’ve also never eaten Sweet Potato Pie. But I’ve heard good things. Similar to pumpkin pie, but sweet potato-y? Whenever I think of pumpkin pie, I always think of our friend Iming, who will do just about anything for anything pumpkiny…I wonder if he’d like this. Maybe next time you’re in town we’ll make one for you to test out. πŸ™‚

PIE #1: Sweet Potato Pie
Recipe here
Okay, before you go boo-hooing about AllRecipes, it’s got 5 stars and 1591 reviews. It was the highest rated recipe I could find.I didn’t change a single thing, because…baking. So I’m just gonna leave that link for ya. The KEY to this recipe is that it calls for one POUND of sweet potato, not ONE sweet potato. I weighed my sweet potato in the store and it came out to 1.17lbs. It filled the pan perfectly! That is, after Justin BOUGHT pie pans, and washed them. and nicely crimped the edges of our sorry store-bought crust. (I was not about to deal with crust this weekend with two pies, okay?!) Serve with whipped cream for SURE. Sweet Potato Pie | SkinnyCookProblems Sweet Potato Pie | SkinnyCookProblems Sweet Potato Pie | SkinnyCookProblems The little dot in the middle was from the toothpick poking 😦 ***********************************************************************************************************

PIE #2: Blackberry Bourbon Buttermilk Pie with Blackberry Vanilla Compote
YEAH YOU READ THAT RIGHT.

I took a lot of liberties with this recipe, but was adapted from this recipe! I created my own recipe for the compote. As i expressed in a prior post about the making of the Blackberry Vanilla Bourbon, I had a realization that the pie was gonna be purple, but with compote in the middle, hopefully it wouldn’t be soooo obvious? But then it wasn’t purple at all! πŸ™‚ We also omitted the vanilla in the recipe because the bourbon/vanilla had been melding about 6 days and was VERY heavily vanilla-ed. It was a big hit! I think it was reminiscent of a St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake.

Also, we made this pie on Saturday afternoon, with our new baby Christmas Tree and it’s okay that we listened to Christmas music, right? I’m normally bah humbug about Christmas music before December 1. But. It’s so cold it might as well be Christmas, I guess.

Ingredients:
Pie:
1/2 C. butter
3 eggs
1 C. white sugar
1/ 4 C. flour
1 C. buttermilk
Pinch of salt
1 T. blackberry vanilla bourbon
1 unbaked pie crust

Compote:
15 blackberries
1/2 T. Honey
1/8 C. sugar
2 T. water mixed with 1/2 t. corn starch
1/2 T. blackberry bourbon

Compote: Mix all items together on low heat (2-3) until berries have all released their juices and sauce clings to the spoon. Refrigerate until serving. Blackberry Compote | SkinnyCookProblems 1. Melt butter and preheat over to 350. 2. Cream eggs, sugar and flour together until smooth. It starts to feel kinda meringue-y. I think this is okay. Blackberry Bourbon Buttermilk Pie | SkinnyCookProblems 3. Mix in milk, bourbon and butter, and pinch of salt. 4. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until edges are puffy. Blackberry Bourbon Buttermilk Pie | SkinnyCookProblemsBlackberry Bourbon Buttermilk Pie | SkinnyCookProblemsServe with compote! I hope you enjoy these Perfect for Fall Pies! Be sure to check out the other two with a bit of a different spin over at Saturday Nights In!

