Butternut Squash Gnocchi

#68: I think my oven is wonky.

I tried roasting the squash and freaked out because after 30 minutes, it was practically still cold. Have patience. Just…keep it in there till it’s soft.

This recipe is from Desserts & Deserts, we’ve been taking a few cues from them recently. Like making our own peanut butter. It’s officially ruined us. Right now, I have 1.25 lbs of peanuts roasting in the oven for the second week in a row because of Katie.

I adapted the recipe down a bit, and it served the two of us perfectly.

Funny story about where I got this sage…Yeah, I stole it. Seems like a trend, but I’m not a klepto, I promise. A park near our house has an educational herb garden (what). This time of year, practically everything was dead but we strolled up to look at it anyway. There was a huge sage section, green and smelling yummy. It says we aren’t supposed to take any, but…yeah I did. I took a teeny sprig. We are currently trying to propagate it in water also… πŸ™‚

Serves 2

Ingredients:
1/2 lb butternut squash (I bought a 1ish lb. squash and cut it in half. Roasted both sides and saved the other half for this weekend.)
2ish C. all-purpose flour
3T. butter

3-4 fresh sage leaves

Yep, that’s all.

1. Roast the squash. I cut it in half, scraped out the seeds and roasted it for around 45-50 minutes on 400.
Butternut Squash Gnocchi | SkinnyCookProblems

Butternut Squash Gnocchi | SkinnyCookProblems

2. Put squash in mixer and mash. Slowly add flour until dough forms. (You don’t have to use a mixer here, but I was in a low-mess mood)

3. Knead dough a little. If you have experience with handmade pasta, it helps to know the proper consistency.

4. Roll into snakes! I started at the top of the piece and let gravity do the work stretching it out, since the gluten liked to spring it back.

5. Cut into bite sized pieces, and stamp with the fork for prettiness.Butternut Squash Gnocchi | SkinnyCookProblems

Butternut Squash Gnocchi | SkinnyCookProblems

6. Boil the gnocchi for 3-4 minutes, or until they float to the top.

7. In a small skillet, heat 3T. butter on high until brown bits start forming, stirring constantly. Drop sage leaves in the butter, pressing them into the pan. This will get foamy. This is good.

8. Add in finished gnocchi and toss with the butter. Serve hot!
Butternut Squash Gnocchi | SkinnyCookProblems

Enjoy!

