Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

#72 : The batter was not runny… #SCP

Case in point:
Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins | SkinnyCookProblemsThey tasted fine, so we’re all good!

I’m back! I know that I took a hiatus during the duration of the fast. For more info on those choices, you can read about them here. But I’m teaming up and doing a recipe swap with Ann-Catherin at No Freshman Fifteen and wanted to bake a healthy treat (and work on getting rid of our whole wheat flour). I made a few modifications, but I used this recipe on Food Network as a guide.

I also had the idea to make flax eggs (egg replacement made with 1T flax + 2T water per egg) after I had already put in one egg. So it was an adventure for sure…! They were yummy though, and we only had one leftover after Bible study. I took it to work for an afternoon snack. The biggest reason I think my “rustic” muffins don’t look like the pictures on Food Network (besides my inferior cooking skills), is that I used an all-purpose whole wheat flour and it absorbed a lot of liquid. For a lighter texture, you can always opt for a whole wheat pastry flour, or just make the whole amount in regular flour. This recipe is easily adaptable to be as healthy as you can accommodate. It can also be gluten free if you change the flours and use GF oats.

Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins | SkinnyCookProblemsMakes: 12 muffins

Ingredients:
1 C. whole wheat flour
1/2 C. all purpose white flour
1/2 C. rolled oats
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t.Β  salt
1/4 t. baking soda
1/2 C. vegetable oil
1/2 C. sour cream
1/2 C. brown sugar
1 t. pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs (or 2 flax eggs: 2T and 4T water)
1 small package (6oz) blueberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

1. Mix together flours, oats, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
2. Combine remaining ingredients (except blueberries) in another bowl.
3. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. It will get clumpy. This is fine!
4. Gently stir in the blueberries…this gets tricky. Just space them out.
5. Press into cupcake liners inside the muffin pan. They don’t rise THAT much from my experience, so it’s okay to pack them pretty full, and flatten them on the top.
6. Bake 20-25 minutes (mine were right at 22) until starting to brown on the top and a toothpick comes out clean from the center.
ENJOY! πŸ™‚
Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins | SkinnyCookProblems
